Paris: Day 02, Part 02

Day 02, Part 01 ended with a short break in the apartment before going to the Palais Garnier (Paris Opera House). On my out of the Musee d’Orsay earlier that day, I saw a notice near the exit that said I could receive a discounted ticket at the Palais Garnier if I showed my ticket stub, Plus, I couldn’t get Phantom of the Opera out of my head (both the musical and the book).

_DSC0452

Funny enough, there was actually a massive miniature cross-section of the Palais Garnier in the Musee d’Orsay. It was so intricate and detailed. A brief part of the exhibit was in English so, brief history lesson: After the second time the opera house had burnt down, they (whoever they is) decided to hold a competition. Despite the Empress favoring one applicant in particular, this random dude named Charles Garnier won to the surprise of all.  _DSC0468

All I can say is: how gorgeous is that? Wait until you see the inside! _DSC0469

Opera House 2

Do you see this? Is this even real? I mean, come on! Come on! How crazy good-looking is that?!

Opera House 3

I have to admit that I was humming random bars of Phantom of the Opera while exploring the building. At one point, I walked down a hallway and almost, almost said, “Keep your hand at the level of your eye!” to a couple I passed.

Opera House 1

Okay, at this point, I have to give a little literature education. It’s told throughout the musical/movie to “keep your hand at the level of your eye”. What they never explain in either is that the Phantom of the Opera used to work in a carnival and learned many tricks, including building intricate traps and he became extremely deft with a noose. If you kept your hand at the level of your eye, then the noose would always get caught around your arm and elbow and you would avoid being hanged! Super crucial detail, guys. Seriously – always read the books. I highly recommend reading Phantom of the Opera. Stop reading this and go read that now. I won’t hold it against you at all. Go on. Shoo!

_DSC0554

If you’re still here against my advisement, I’ll continue with my storytelling. Surprisingly, there was also a really cool museum containing miniature set designs, examples of costumes, costume designs, sheets of old music, and random artifacts from performances in the past. I was most impressed with the miniature set designs. They are so beautiful and detailed. Just look! Just look at that!

Opera House 4

The gift shop for the Palais Garnier was crazy crowded. I debated buying a magnet of that gorgeous ceiling in the auditorium and I ended up having this internal conversation with my voice of reason (aka my husband) and I decided to buy a pretty postcard and then I shoved my way out of there and back into the metro to Montmartre. That’s what’s next!

One thought on “Paris: Day 02, Part 02

Leave a Reply

