Birthday Weekend

My birthday weekend started last Thursday afternoon right before I left work. My boss invited whoever was interested to go to the opera with him. Specifically, the Barber of Seville at The State Opera. The interior of this building is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. We had a spectacular view from the top balcony.
Statni-opera-1On Saturday morning, Walter and I went to IKEA and bought some comfy chairs for the apartment. I also got my birthday present – a new sewing machine. I’ve been doing a lot of embroidery lately and having a sewing machine will definitely come in handy. That afternoon, we picked up some pies from The Pie Shop (http://www.pieshop.cz/) – recently, my suggested name for their new Shepherd’s pie was chosen: Livingston.
That night we had some friends over to eat some pies and watch Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium. It turned into a night of praising and watching Angelina Jolie. We could not stop talking about her and how awesome she is.

Walter took us to Barrio de Angel in the early afternoon on Sunday for some rib eye steaks and baked potatoes – delicious. Then we went to TESCO and got some organizational bins for the house. Then we went back to IKEA and then spent the rest of the night watching Star Wars.

I had Monday off of work so I woke up at the normal time and visited some stores that are always closed when I’m not working. I went to an office supply store and then walked to textile shop that was really more of an odds and end shop then the fabric store I was expecting. I also took some photos and videos along the way and stopped by a Rembrandt bakery for breakfast for a fresh chocolate croissant. After walking around for a little bit, I popped into Marks and Spencer for some treats (shrimp and bacon) and then went home to craft, watch TV, clean, answer overdue emails, respond to a million Facebook posts, and play with my new sewing machine.
When Walter came home, we had a nice dinner: pasta with white sauce, bacon, and crab. We also had a nice chat with the mother-in-law and sister-in-law. What a lovely day. Thanks to all the people who made my birthday (weekend) amazing.
_DSC0030 _DSC0032_DSC0063 _DSC0084 _DSC0088 _DSC0091 _DSC0102

7 thoughts on “Birthday Weekend

  1. Enjoyed your birthdate news and pictures and am glad that you had such a nice birthday. We miss you. Love, Dziadzi

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Wow, birthday love them. Thanks for sharin’ your special day w/us pics and all the trimmins’…Happy Belated bir par tee from us!!

Leave a Reply

