Cinnamon Chocolate Banana Bread

We bought rotten bananas at the hypermarket yesterday and on the way home, each one became dislodged from its stem. In other words, I had to use the bananas today to avoid potential attraction of fruit flies…yes, that is the excuse I use to rationalize making Cinnamon Chocolate Banana Bread today…twice.
I have a major inclination towards all things chocolate and cinnamon…and with the rotten bananas, I decided to combine everything into one breakfast/dessert. I always try to follow a recipe that I find online….which usually means that I just guesstimate everything…and then I throw in my own things (like cinnamon sugar)…and then replace their ingredients with my own. So, I’m not so good at following directions.
But this bread turned out deliciously good. Gooey-ish on the inside and a bit crusty on the outside. Tasty. There isn’t much of a banana taste (which is why it’s the third adjective listed in the title of this bread) but it does add that soft gooey-ness I mentioned.
INGREDIENTS:
230 Grams (1 3/4 cups) Flour              200 Grams (1 cup) Brown Sugar
1 tsp Baking Powder                          1/4 tsp Baking Soda
30 grams (1/4 cup) Cocoa                  1/4 tsp Salt
30 grams (1/4 cup) Milk                      1 tsp Vanilla Extract
Cinnamon                                         Cinnamon Sugar
2 Eggs                                             2 Ripe Bananas
Shaved Chocolate or Chocolate Chips

TO DO:
1. Preheat the oven to 200C (with fan).
2. Mix together all that dry stuff. The cinnamon and cinnamon sugar don’t have specific measurements because the amount is up to your discretion. I didn’t measure. I just threw some in there. I really like cinnamon…so I added a lot.
3. Mash the bananas. Mix in the milk, eggs, and vanilla extract.
4. Mix everything together. If the mix is too dry, then slowly add more milk until it becomes more paste-like. Be careful not to add too much. The thickness is your preference – I prefer mine to be thicker.
5. Before throwing it into the oven, sprinkle some brown sugar on top for some crunchy goodness. Grease the pan and bake for 35-40 minutes.
I froze the loaf and decided to make a second batch in muffin form…but the muffin dishes are a bit more shallow than I’m used to and for some reason they just kinda overflowed onto the top of the muffin pan and became one giant muffin top. It was kinda bizarre. They’re still good but I recommend making bread over muffins with this specific recipe.

One thought on “Cinnamon Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. Wow, reading your blog is dangerous when I am trying to avoid sugar! Your bread looks delicious. Very impressive too, grams and Celsius temperatures! Very European.

Leave a Reply

