First Snow

It is snowing. In Prague. In October. With this being the first snow I have seen in 10 years, I am giddy, to say the least. I woke up this morning and within 30 minutes had convinced my husband that there were essential must-have items from the grocery store that we had to retrieve immediately. I throw on my peacoat, a scarf, gloves, leg warmers, and a hat – we go outside and it is such a beautiful wonderland. It is a wonderful, beautiful, elegant, magnificent beauty of nature. In case you haven’t noticed, I have REALLY missed snow. And I can’t stop singing, “Pure Imagination” from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. All I want to do is eat soup, drink hot chocolate, cuddle up with a warm book, roll in the snow, play Frank Sinatra, and watch old Judy Garland movies. Snow just makes me feel like a kid again – like time stands still for a little while just to watch the snow fall.
After we got back from the grocery store, we made tomato soup, grilled cheese, and homemade garlic bread. While eating we watched the Mockingbird Lane pilot episode and absolutely LOVED it – witty dialogue, beautiful costumes, lovely sets, interesting plot. We’re rooting for poor Bryan Fuller but we honestly don’t have our hopes up.
The key to really good homemade garlic bread is not cutting the bread all the way through. We used a baguette, cut the bread in one inch intervals about 75% of the way to the bottom (so that the bread was still attached), spread garlic and butter with a little shake of oregano on each side and then baked it for about three minutes. Keeping the bread together spreads the moisture of the butter throughout the entire roll while giving the crust a nice crunch.
For really great tasting grilled cheese, the key is to butter the outside of the bread and put each side directly on the pan – open face (no need to add any butter to the pan). The butter cooks the bread and adds a nice tasty crunch. Depending on what you like, you can have one or two slices of cheese and maybe spread on a little garlic. Then mush either side together and leave on the pan for about 10-20 seconds so everything melts together. Crunchy on the outside. Gooey on the inside.
Then after all this, I convinced my husband yet again to join me out in the snow to hold an umbrella over me while I took photos. He is such a good husband.
And when we came home, we made hot chocolate with cinnamon! Now all I need is a little bit of Frank and Judy. What a perfect snow day.

Leave a Reply

