A PBCC Muffin Kinda Day

I have this frustrating habit of not being able to fall asleep on Sunday nights. Monday mornings are my earliest days of the week but I can never fall asleep until the wee hours of the morning, leaving me sleepy eyed and running a little bit late every Monday morning. Of course I made it to my class on time because a little bit late for me is about 15 minutes early for everyone else.
Despite the fact that the day was fine, I just knew it was going to be “one of those days”. The kind of day where you just want to lay in bed, watch Gilmore Girls, and eat Pumpkin Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins.With the seasons changing in Prague and the apparent lack of any of the seasonal commercialization that I continually complained about despite my participation, I have been craving pumpkin. Anything pumpkin. I don’t drink coffee but I do drink pumpkin spice lattes. Pumpkin picking. Pumpkin carving. Pumpkin pie. And pretty much any pumpkin baked good. Unfortunately, with the apparent lack of seasonal commercialization comes the apparent lack of pumpkin-related goods. That’s right. No pumpkin spice lattes. While I’m sure I could travel to the far reaches of Prague and find a remote patch to hunt for pumpkins and then lug that sucker back into town and up four flights of stairs, I’d rather not. The hypermarket does sell pumpkins but there is something remarkably unappealing about carving a pumpkin indoors. Thankfully, some genius decided to open a store that imports many of the American goods that the American expat community in Prague craves including (but certainly not limited to) canned pumpkin.
In celebration of autumn and in anticipation of a bad day, I baked some Pumpkin Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins of deliciousness/doom. Ironically, the muffins did bring some sadness to the day. My man and I went grocery shopping yesterday and with the notion of baking in mind, we went prepared with a grocery list of baking goods and their translations into Czech. Much to my chagrin, the list was lost somewhere on our journey to the hypermarket. About 30 minutes was spent wandering down three aisles staring at the different varieties of flour and sugar with a desperate search for baking soda and cinnamon. While we managed to come away with a lot of the items on our list, there were some essentials that required some improvisation today while baking the PBCC muffins.
I found a recipe online and it called for canola oil, all-purpose flour, brown sugar, vanilla extract, cinnamon, and baking soda. We had vegetable oil, whole wheat flour, what I think is brown sugar, a very small jar of something labeled vanilla (I honestly have no idea how the extract makes a difference), cinnamon sugar, and sodium bicarbonate. The dough also came out a lot thicker than I expected and without proper measuring tools, I just guessed a lot. Speaking of chocolate chips…I couldn’t find any chocolate chips so I just dug the little chocolate pieces out of our granola. I know what you’re thinking – just don’t have chocolate in your muffins. Now, let me tell you what I’m thinking – what? are you insane?
So, I followed the recipe I found as best as I could but it was kinda difficult considering I had no measuring spoons and everything is in metric but the recipe was in American and then the dough came out way too thick and I had to add a bunch of milk and then I baked it for 10 minutes according to the recipe but I’m pretty sure the ovens are different here and by different I mean, I don’t know how to work them properly so I had to put the muffins back in four more times cause there was this little pocket of dough at the top of every muffin which seems completely counter intuitive, but they tasted good and thick. So, here’s an approximate recipe for Pumpkin Banana Chocolate Chip muffins:
1. Preheat the oven to approximately 200C (350F). Do the obvious mixing of the all the dry goods together that every baking recipe says to do.
2. Mash the bananas and mix in the pumpkin with all the wet stuff.
3. Mix everything together. Put it in a muffin pan that you hopefully coated with butter or spray (which they also don’t have here).
4. Put it in the oven…and since these muffins are SO thick, don’t rely on the old sticking a toothpick in bit because it will fail you like it failed me. You pretty much have to surgically open one of the muffins and stick your finger in it to see if it’s done. If your finger comes out dry, then it’s done. I gave up after putting the muffins back in the 4th time which I think was 20-25 minutes. I can’t be sure.
So, when I got home after work and remembered those beautifully torturous Pumpkin Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins waiting for me, I shoved one in my mouth and said, “Oh, yeah.” Just a PBCC Muffin kinda day.

3 thoughts on “A PBCC Muffin Kinda Day

  1. I made these about an hour ago. They came out great — Used a little extra pumpkin, just a splash of milk, and added cinnamon and allspice. And probably way more chocolate than you did, but that’s just for me. They are delicious! I’m going to have to stop myself from eating them all.

Leave a Reply

